Journalling Day 2

notepadJohn 2

 Key verses:   1On the third day a wedding took place at Cana in Galilee. Jesus’ mother was there, 2and Jesus and his disciples had also been invited to the wedding. 3When the wine was gone, Jesus’ mother said to him, “They have no more wine.”   4“Dear woman, why do you involve me?” Jesus replied, “My time has not yet come.”    5His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”

I never really understood this interaction between Jesus and his Mother.  Being a mother it kind of disturbs me.  It does reminded me to really HONOR my kids.  I want to treat them as if they will be smarter, closer to God, more valuable in the kingdom of God than I. (cause they probably will be!) I want to trust them to hear from God.  I don’t ever really want to miss the mark when stepping into their world / ministry / relationships…  I don’t want them to have to look at me and say  “Hey, you really are missing the point here.”

But today, as I re-read this passage I thought, “wow, there are so many things we don’t know about people’s motives.  Of course, Jesus always knows.”  And we don’t have to know.  He isn’t into showing us everyone else’s dirty laundry / thought process…That is between you and Him.  What was Mary really thinking…. “Wow, my son is going to be famous!” ?  or “I wonder if he will EVER get started, he is 30 years old, for goodness sake!” ?  Is that what prompted his “4“Dear woman, why do you involve me?” Jesus replied, “My time has not yet come.”  comment.

 But the real kicker is this…. He does it anyway!  What grace!  He honors her request! (I feel the same kind of awe as when I read about Esther reaching out and touching the scepter of the King)   Maybe because she repents of wrong thinking, maybe ’cause he just loves her.  I don’t know.  What I do know is that this passage represents a a principle, a key to God’s word and His character…. I can’t know it all, I can’t read people’s minds and He is always going to do what is good and right, regardless of my understanding.  AND, I NEVER get what I deserve.  I only get grace. 

wow.  I really like my God.

Leave a Reply

