Journaling Day 11

wallJohn 11:5  Jesus loved Martha and her sister and Lazarus. 6Yet when he heard that Lazarus was sick, he stayed where he was two more days.

This is a heavy thing.  There have been times in my life that Jesus knew I would die if He didn’t intervene…. and he stayed away.  I used to be mad. I didn’t really die, btw.  But pieces of me died. Joy died. Trust died. Rottenness took over.

…and then – just as I was starting to stink, with sorrow and anger and sickness… HE came and brought me back to life.  He reminded me that he knit me in my mother’s womb, that through my weakness HE is strong, that “all things work together for good-for those who love Him, who are called according to HIS purpose”  HE called me!  Out of the tomb, out of the prison I had been put in.  Out of the prison I had made, thinking I was protecting myself.  I am alive to HIS glory.  I have overcome to HIS glory. 

I love that “he stayed where he was…” is prefaced with the reassurance, “Jesus loved Martha and her sister and Lazarus…”  His care is perfect.  He tells us clearly that what He does is out of love.  This is a heavy thing.  A hard saying.  But I am alive in Christ – joyful, free, unfettered by hatred, guilt or fear.  I am alive indeed. 

Me and Lazarus.

Leave a Reply

