Journaling Day 12

pulpitJohn 12: 4But one of his disciples, Judas Iscariot, who was later to betray him, objected, 5Why wasn’t this perfume sold and the money given to the poor? It was worth a year’s wages.” 6He did not say this because he cared about the poor but because he was a thief; as keeper of the money bag, he used to help himself to what was put into it.

I hate when people sound smart, righteous and thoughtful  – but really they are liars and thiefs with bad motives.  I don’t know many people like that, but I know a few.  Jesus just let him hang out with them.

I get kind of hung up about my money and what it is supposed to be used for.  A friend of mine (who doesn’t have time to blog or read blogs) said today that the Suburban they bought -so they could cart a bunch of kids to and from StuCo -guzzles so much gas that when he drives it he thinks about the kids in Africa that could have lived if only that money had been spent on them.  It’s so sad.  And confusing.  He says it’s one of those tightrope things….

 “Leave her alone,” Jesus replied. ” It was intended that she should save this perfume for the day of my burial. You will always have the poor among you, but you will not always have me.” 

My friend won’t always have kids going to StuCo, he won’t always be able to drive a bunch of their friends.  He has to do it now – while he can.

Jesus, help me think right about you and my posessions.  Keep me from accepting guilt trips from people with bad motives.  I want to serve you with joy in things that will bring YOU joy.

Leave a Reply

