Journaling Day 20

John 20:3 So Peter and the other disciple started for the tomb. 4 Both were running, but the other disciple outran Peter and reached the tomb first.

I am a little competetive. Well, maybe a lot. My younger sister (Jenn, below) and I went to PA to visit our older sister. We decided to go bicycling. I hadn’t ridden a bike for close to 15 yrs so I was just hoping to stay upright as long as I could!
Jenn

I could hardly stay up, wobbling like a little kid, but after 10-15 mminutes I remembered how it all worked. So we started messing around. Laura (Laughing with me in picture below) doesn’t like to be in front and does like letting her younger sisters do whatever they want. So we took the lead…and Jenn kept trying to pass me! Not that it mattered in the least, but I did not want her to pass me. Every time she tried, I poured on a little more. She tried sneaking up, she tried blowing past, she tried diverting my attention. But there was NO WAY she was getting in front. NO WAY. We were laughing so hard by the end of that ride! But she never got out front. Not once.
beth and laura laughing

John seems a little like that too. Kind of quiet. But he just had to point out that Peter went running and lost! The difference is they were running to Jesus.

I want to be THAT kind of competitive. Not for my own sense of pride, but for God’s honor. I want to be the first to give up my rights, the first to say a kind word, the first to lend a hand. I want to see Jesus (have real vision) and run for all I’m worth in that direction.

Leave a Reply

