what are you lookin’ at? or…wierd people

ohhh, come on. You know what I am talking about! People that you kind of want to shy away from because you just don’t know WHAT to think about that wierd person. Here is what I wonder…

John, the Baptist. Ultimate wierd guy. I read this passage this morning:

John 5:29-34
The next day, John saw Jesus coming toward him and said:
Here is the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world! … I was there and saw the Spirit come down on him like a dove from heaven. And the Spirit stayed on him. Before this I didn’t know who he was. But the one who sent me to baptize with water had told me, “You will see the Spirit come down and stay on someone. Then you will know that he is the one who will baptize with the Holy Spirit.” I saw this happen, and I tell you that he is the Son of God.

And I thought – this guy must have looked strange walking around watching the tops of people’s heads!

He is on this ultimate mission from God, looking for something to come down on someone and STAY THERE.

What did this guy normally see? Did he sometimes see the Spirit come down on people and leave? Is that why God had to define “and stay on someone”?

Here is my thinking… There are people who have a different way of looking at the world around them and we wonder about, talk about and (often) try to avoid them. But what if these people are just gifted with the ability / purpose of looking at the world in an expectant, yet unexpected way – seeing things others don’t.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

