Proverbs 19

 25 Flog a mocker, and the simple will learn prudence; rebuke a discerning man, and he will gain knowledge.

I find this very interesting.  How true that people who mock are often without a teachable spirit.  Reprimanding them doesn’t do much for THEM, but is important to do for those who are watching the scene play out.  Simple people will at least not repeat the behavior they saw rebuked.  But a wise person is always worth correcting.  He will always learn. 

No where does it say to do nothing.  Sometimes we get grace mixed up with protecting people from the natural consequences to their behavior. (Which is EXACTLY what it is!  Silly me!) But it isn’t good for people to rescue them from EVERY consequence.  It’s almost like stealing a first grader’s reading book – you steal an important tool for their growth and future learning- not to mention the ability to gain respect in life. 

I am so happy for the grace I recieve from Jesus – afforded me by his death and resurection.  I am also happy for the natural consequences to my actions.  I hope I am wise and learn from them!

Leave a Reply

