Responsibility

Ecc1:18 “For in much wisdom is much grief; and he that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow.

First:  I am reading this translation because I have to fix yet another thing on my Vista computer to dowbload another Bible to my phone. (insert irritated grrrrr here)

Second: This verse keeps popping up. Usually when I am dissappointed with my self for something.  It’s funny I have prayed most of my life for wisdom, and God in HIS wisdom, has kept this verse closed to me.

Now I’m not saying that I am all wise, cause if I were I would be dissappointed with myself less, due to application of said wisdom!

Anyway-the older I get and the more I just want what God wants, the more opportunity for sorrow (and joy, of course, but that is another blog post) as I realize through hard earned wisdom and real caring-the missed opportunities, the better choices, and so on.

This isn’t a self hate or pity party, just a realization that ignorance is bliss and wisdom bringeth sorrow (due in part to the responsibility that comes with wisdome).

Yet here I am saying “Bring on the wisdom, God, cause I certainly don’t want to be a blathering idiot!” (Which, the wiser I get, I may realize that that is indeed what I am!)

One thought on “Responsibility

  1. Yeah, so I was watching Joyce Meyer recently and she talked about how many peeopl live sorrow filled lives because they walk around with this false wisdom, thinking they “know” God and “know” His word, but its really actually arrogance. Dude, I thought to myself, I dont’ want to be that way. I don’t want to miss what God may be saying to me becasue I am busy listening to MY own assumptions. I don’t want to miss the moments of God passing by me bc I am caught up in “knowing” the moment already. Yes, with much “wisdom” can come much sorrow bc we lose out on the amazing reveal God wants to bring to our lives every moment we admit we need him. “God, please make yourself “known” to me again”. Then there is joy!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

