Brokenness

Sometimes I feel sorry for myself, and during one of these moments (not one I am proud of) I wondered “Why” we have to suffer so much. (it actually makes me chuckle now that I am on the other side of it) But at the time it was pretty intense. 

A couple Bible verses hit me.  Of course there is Psalm 51:17 “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.” and Jeremiah 23:29 – “Is not my word like as a fire? saith the LORD; and like a hammer that breaketh the rock in pieces?”

It seems all so harsh. Aren’t we made of dust?? Isn’t he supposed to remember that?   …And then it occurred to me -a couple of thoughts about breaking things:Great Grandma Gertie

  1. Once when I was a kid, I was dusting and I accidentally (carelessly) broke a family heirloom.  It was a leaded glass basket that my great grandmother carried at her wedding. The look on my mom’s face, when she saw it was broken was unforgettable.  She was in mourning.
  2. Another time someone broke something of mine on purpose.  It was really precious to me.  I felt like I had been stabbed – I actually physically felt it.
  3. And I can’t remember the movie, but there was this scene where the hero breaks this Ming Dynasty Vase worth, I don’t know, maybe millions.  It was crazy cause even the audience was in shock, but then you realize that there was something even MORE valuable inside! (haha, can’t remember now what it actually was!)

My conclusions?

God’s heart breaks when I get broken by someone’s carelessness or maliciousness.

God sees what’s inside me.  He breaks away the nasty stuff I’ve built around what He sees as precious. Once He’s broken away what to Him is useless, or in the way, He can use me the way He designed.

I don’t think I can keep from building nasty stuff around the beauty He created in me.  So I will continue to embrace the breaking, knowing that I am precious.

Leave a Reply

