small things…great love

We cannot do great things on this Earth, only small things with great love. – Mother Teresa

I do it.  I get caught up in the ridiculousness of BIG.  Go big or go home. The bigger the better.  A big deal. blah blah blah. It’s almost like if it ISN’T big it isn’t worth anything.  Wow. What a lie.

When I came across this quote again today I cried as God reminded me of all the little (potentially inconsequential) things I have been doing.  Not “doing little things and doing them with great love” – but doing little things because of great love.  Little things that don’t feel like much, maybe, but because of the intensity of the love that Christ has put in my heart I do them because I have to do something and that is all there is to do.

What are those things? Grocery shopping for a sick mom, seeing the best in someone everyday, sharing hope, saying the good you see, giving the little you have in your hand, spending time with someone doing nothing…or something important – doesn’t matter, showing up day after day, being you- fully, living transparently – even when it hurts, fighting thru  – no matter what, teaching skills you have that others don’t, not teaching when you could so others can grow, sharing tools, sharing ideas…

My guess is that you have a lot of things to put on that list…

At the same time I am convicted by the many little things I don’t do, important things, I neglect just the same. 😦

Today, for now,  I focus on the good.

One thought on “small things…great love

  1. Yep, that’s so true! I was just reading in the “Apprentice Field Guide” last night about how seeing the potential in people can be huge. Are you the type of person who sees the good in people? Just a little bit of encouragement can go a long way in someone’s life. I seem to think that even just an encouraging smile can brighten someone’s day without you even knowing it~

    I also know that God places little things on our hearts that might seem insignificant to us, but can touch someone else in ways that you won’t even imagine. So…the next time you have that feeling that you are supposed to call someone that you have been thinking about, do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

