Free To Stop – Human Trafficking

I love capturing the beauty of human nature, encapsulating it in a picture, a story, blog post…whatever.

We have all seen the sad pictures of the malnourished child, a fly on their eye, and heard the pleas to give money to feed those children. While it is heartbreaking, I think we have become desensitized and demoralized – because, well, the problem doesn’t seem to go away. I begin to doubt my impact. I have found personally that when I operate from a place of power, gratitude and confidence I can sustain efforts and be more effective.

And there is the inspiration for HOW this fundraiser/show is different. It’s about beauty, and struggle and real life stories born out of the freedoms we possess. Freedoms that trafficked persons don’t have. But the sense of gratitude that comes from celebrating the freedoms we have is in itself empowering. When I know what I have, I begin to know what I can give. When I am grateful for what I have, I begin to desire that for others…

I read this blog (http://flowerdust.net/2010/04/08/the-sex-cafe) about Human Trafficking in an eastern block country and thought this would be the perfect project for a few of my photographer friends.

TakenYou may have seen the movie “Taken” with Liam Neeson where Liam’s daughter and friend take a trip to Paris only to be kidnapped and sold (the friend actually dies – sorry if you haven’t seen it yet). It’s compelling. I haven’t talked to a dad who watched it who wasn’t a bit shaken.

We like to think about these dark, dirty things happening in ‘other’ countries, but the fact is that between 14,500 and 17,500 people are trafficked into the United States each year. Come celebrate with us, learn, be encouraged and empowered… to do something – your something, or be a part of our doing something. Eitherway, come.

INFO:

http://www.voanews.com/learningenglish/home/Human-Trafficking-a-Problem-in-Major-Cities-Across-US-96252899.html

US Gov fact sheet on Human Trafficking

INSPIRATION:

Tell it like it is by Tracy Chapman

Stay tuned for opportunities to purchase tickets to our show, to donate, to be encouraged and inspired….

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

