being me… or you.

“Why am I so afraid to be completely me? #seemssilly” ….my most recent tweet.

Screenshot 2014-08-11 14.47.06

I thought of some reasons why.

  • I am afraid you are going to judge me for my ‘bad language’ even tho I think it’s just fine language and expresses my feelings well. But then the next question is: “why do I really care what YOU think of me?” I need to like me. You liking me is a bonus. Or not, depending on who you are. 😉
  • I wonder how I will feel if I change my mind about how to best be “ME” and how YOU will react to it.  I think I will be OK with saying “I didn’t like being that way, so I changed it.” But as far as what you think: “why do I really care what YOU think of me?” I need to like me. You liking me is a bonus. Or not, depending on who you are. 😉
  • I am afraid to not be right. Wow.  And just WHO decides that anyway? If I am wrong  – or at least I am in agreement with YOUR assessment of me being wrong – I can change.  Until then; I need to like me. You liking me is a bonus. Or not, depending on who you are. 😉
  • I am concerned about other people following me and then me changing my mind. What about my ‘responsibility’? Here’s what I think about that.  Each human gets to decide what they think, right? So if you agree with me now and I change my mind… you get to decide if you want to maintain the same course or not.  Just like me.  Every day is full of decisions, the only one we need to make sure we don’t disappoint is us. And in the end: I need to like me. You liking me is a bonus. Or not, depending on who you are. 😉

This post is not a “F U and your self righteous judgementalism” post.  HAHAHA! You absolutely get to think and feel the way you do.  I can be cool with that.  But it is a “can you be cool with me, anyway” kind of post.  If not: I need to like me. You liking me is a bonus. Or not, depending on who you are. 😉

…with all due respect.

Thanks for listening. 🙂

One thought on “being me… or you.

Leave a Reply

